close menu
This website uses cookies to store your accessibility preferences. No personal / identifying information is stored. More info.


Commissioner’s Office

The three county commissioners constitute the chief governing body of the county and are bound by the County Code. The commissioners are elected for a four-year term, with their terms running simultaneously. The county commissioners are vested with selective policy-making authority to provide certain local services and facilities on a county-wide basis. They are also members of the wooden swing and flowerSalary, Retirement, and Prison Boards.

Administrative powers and duties of county commissioners encompass registration and elections, assessment of persons and property, human services, veterans’ affairs, appointment of county personnel, and fiscal management. As managers of fiscal affairs, county commissioners are responsible for the adoption of county budgets, assessment of property, levying taxes, and borrowing of funds for construction of capital projects.

In addition to complying with state requirements, the commissioners must also file a copy of the budget in detail on a form prescribed by the Department of Community Affairs, with the Chief Clerk, which shall be the basis for the accounting system. Thus the commissioners set the stage for the record keeping process.

A portion of the county administrative responsibilities is shared with other county officers and agencies. For example, the county commissioners as members of the salary board divide this responsibility with the treasurer and the appropriate row office (all the individual offices in the courthouse) heads for fixing salaries of county employees and for determining the number of employees to be hired. Courts and the elected officials of each county row office do the actual appointing of their own clerks, deputies, and assistants, subject to limitations imposed by the salary board.

Office Contact e-mail:
Office FAX: 814-486-3176 

Board of Commissioners:Cropped Photo of 3Js

Jessica D. Herzing, Chair
(814) 486-9323

James D. Moate, Vice-Chair
(814) 486-9325

Joshua D. Zucal
(814) 486-9324

Chief Clerk:

Annette Campbell
(814) 486-9322

Assistant Clerk:
Misty K. Lupro
(814) 486-9321

Edwin W. Tompkins III
Phone : (814) 486-1532